Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Chinese Unesco cards

5, five new unesco cards from China :D From up to bottom, Capital Cities and Tombs of the Ancient Koguryo Kingdom; Longmen Grottoes; Yungang Grottoes; Mt. Wuyi and Three Paralel Rivers. All the cards were sent by "orlando112o".

In 37 BC, Zhu Meng of Fuyu Tribe established Gaogouli (or Koguryo Kingdom in Heshenggu City (present day Huanren County, Liaoning Province). In 3 AD, King Liuli Mingwang, the second king of Gaogouli, moved the capital to Guonei City (present day Ji'an City, Jilin Province). During the more than 400 years when its capital existed in Huanren and Ji'an, Gaogouli created a splendid civilization, as demonstrated by the numerous historical sites preserved today.

The existing three cities, 20 imperial mausoleums and hundreds of tombs for nobles of Gaogouli are the representative reclics of the ancient kingdom.

This site is on the Unesco WHS list since 2004.

Located in the southern suburbs of Luoyang City, Henan Province, the Longmen Grottoes houses over 2100 Buddhist niches, more than 100.000 Buddha images, over 3600 inscribed steles and 40 Buddhist pagodas. They are scattered on the eastern and western cliffs on both banks of the Yi River. The constrution of the grottoes began during the period of Northern Wei (386-534), and continued throughout the following dynasties for over 400 years.
These grottoes were inscribed on the Unesco list in 2000.

The Yungang Grottoes, one of the largest grottoes in China, lie south of Mount Wuzhou about 16 kms west of Datong City, Shanxi Province. The honeycomb-shaped grottoes were carved into slopes of the mountain, extending about one km from east to west. With the constraction of it beginning in 453, the grottoes have a history of more than 1500 years. There are 53 caves, over 1100 Buddhist niches and 51000 statues altogether.

In 2001, the Yungang Grottoes were made a Unesco WHS.

It is a famous scenic area in China. lying in northern Fujian Province, Mount Wuyi possesses a well-preserved ecological environment on a danxia landform. Its main attractions include Jiuquxi River, 36 peaks and 96 caves. The mountain is also famous for its numerous historical and cultural heritages, as well as rich species of animals and plants.
Mount Wuyi was added to the Unesco's list in 1999.

The Three Parallel Rivers of Yunnan Protected Areas is a Unesco World heritage Site in Yunnan province, since 2003.
Occupying an area that covers 41.300 square miles in northwestern Yunnan Province, the landscape of Three Parallel Rivers is composed of three torrential rivers: Nujiang, Lancang and Jinsha, as well as the mountains in their valleys.

Featuring special geological structure, diverse climate and vegetation, and multifarious biological group, it is a fabulous landscape in the world.

No comments: